New Phog Tags

I took an unplanned break from knitting and tagging for about a month. I had been knitting all winter and spring, it seemed, so it was nice to get away from it for a while. But at the last CNAP meeting, I felt like I should get back to tagging the bike racks outside of Phog. They’re so close to being finished. I had a few finished tags in my bag already, and I knitted one during the meeting. Elisha showed me how to do some sort of crochet embroidery on the tags, so I practiced that technique on a plain red one. I definitely need to practice some more. I put up three or four tags after the meeting.

As I was sewing the tags onto each of the bike racks, a few people stopped to tell me how great the tags are around downtown and how they really make the city look nicer. One man even stuck around for probably ten minutes telling me how the Windsor taggers have inspired him with our beautiful knitting. He told me that he wants to experiment with coat hangers and other materials to make a bike rack look like a medicine wheel. I think it would be amazing. I hope he tries it.

As always, I took some pictures of my work. Unfortunately it was pretty late and there were bikes on the racks (two of them being mine and my boyfriends, lol) so the pictures aren’t as good as I wanted them to be.

IMG_4702

you can barely see the new tag in this picture. it's the blue one on the left.

IMG_4695

it says Obnubilate. I was going to do a week of tags with Webster's Word of the Day embroidered into them, but all of the words after this one were just pointless lol.

IMG_4701

The new ones are the two bottom ones on the circle part of the bike rack, and also the red and yellow one.

IMG_4700

This is the one I practiced the crochet embroidery on. I did it too tight, so the center part puckered really strangely.

IMG_4697

This rack is nearly complete! I need to knit one small tag, and then i have to make a larger one to finish the middle part.

The next post is going to showcase Elisha’s new EPIC knit tags. Seriously, they’re amazing.

2 responses to “New Phog Tags

  1. My mom and I spotted your new tags several hours ago. Like other people she is delighted by the colorful tags ~ fun little visual surprises. It is really nice seeing you continue making tags!

    • thank you : )

      i want to make ever brighter tags. someone should give me a job so i can buy a million pounds of that crazy yarn we saw at walmart a few weeks ago lol

Leave a Reply

